sign up for our newsletter
Home   Shopping Cart   Contact Details   Sound Details
wholesale login
 On Sale
  contact us
wholesale terms
catalog request
reseller request
how to play music
privacy policy
Join our email list




Media Type: CD
srikalogy - New Paradigm
1.) New Paradigm
2.) The Realness
3.) Together (feat. Malia Kulp)
4.) Mountains
5.) In Your Way (feat. Johnson)
6.) Take My Hand (feat. Hall)
7.) Dronesphere
8.) State of Mind (feat. J Alokah Bear, Arin Maya)
9.) Radhe Govinda (DanceHall)
10.) Never Back Down
11.) Ecstatic
12.) C'est La Nourriture
13.) Little Warrior (feat. Malia Kulp)

New Paradigm by an MC, DJ, producer and percussionist, Srikalogy offers conscious hip hop and world music for yoga music.

“My music is about transformation. So much so, that if you stripped away the music, that message is still there,” he explains, by creating hip hop rooted in confidence without bravado, devotion without preachiness. The soul in his music is found not only in the rhythms, but in the energy and intention of each beat.

That, for Srikalogy (aka Srikala Kerel Roach), is at the center of New Paradigm, his fifth studio album and first widespread label release, due May 20, 2014 on Black Swan Sounds.

Srikala was raised in the Bedford-Stuyvesant area of Brooklyn, New York, by West Indian parents, influenced by artists ranging from Talib Kweli to Radiohead. He recalls spending many days and nights in the basement with his cousin making beats: “That’s just something we did growing up,” he says.Throughout his upbringing, he gained a deep love for listening to and creating hip hop, R&B, dub and reggae music.

His early days also found him very active in the skateboarding lifestyle, but the social wear and tear of that wore him down. “There was a lot of partying and I eventually burned out in that space,” he recalls. “Ultimately, New York City beat me up.”

To recover from this crash, he spent six years in an ashram on New York’s Lower East Side, dedicating himself to spiritual instruction and meditation. Slowly, Srikala found his way back to the music and, eventually, left the ashram in 2010 because, as he notes with a smile, “there weren’t any monks coming out with albums.”

He trained as an audio engineer and with those skills produced four albums in less than three years. His audience grew with him, and he’s now at the center of a vibrant Brooklyn-based scene, putting on socially conscious nightlife events with Unitribe Productions, a community-based organization he founded. He also plays regularly with The Flowdown, his jazz-funk fusion band in which he is lead singer and percussionist.

This philosophy is borne out on New Paradigm, a showcase for his poetic lyrics, sophisticated beat production, and skilled cadence and flow. The track “State of Mind” (featuring J Brave of California-based Luminaries) is a hip-hop record tingling with dubstep sounds promoting unity, a theme strongly advocated throughout the project. “Radhe Govinda (DanceHall)” taps into Srikala’s Caribbean roots, blending tones mellow enough for meditation, while "Take My Hand," featuring conscious rocker Trevor Hall, perfectly demonstrates how naturally a spiritual message blends with head-nodding beats. From start to finish, the 14-song project illustrates Srikala's varied musical influences, the complexities of his background, and his current exuberance.

Do you love New Paradigm by Srikalogy? See below for more world music and yoga music.



Home Shopping Cart Search Site Contact Details Sound Details Up

©2019 Whiteswanmusic | Web Application by Airbubble Industries | Web Design by Computer Conscious